top of page

Acerca de

PSCA Gene Davis Coach of the Year


The PSCA Coach of the Year awards are given in honor of Gene Davis who was an All-America soccer player at West Chester University and later served as high school coach at Octorara HS for 25 years. Gene Davis was a dedicated coach, teacher and principal but died in 1985 at the young age of 47.

The PSCA Coach of the year award is to honor a coach who has not only had a successful season, but has developed a history of success. The qualified coach should have demonstrated a coaching effectiveness that extends throughout their career.

Selection Process

A league representative, or head coach must submit an official nomination form stating qualifications.  The coach of any team in the state finals will automatically be eligible for Coach of the Year honors as one of the nominees. Nominations must be made by November 1st to the Coach of Year Committee Chair, Scott Bonagura


1. Coach/School must be a member of the PSCA.

2. Coach must have a winning record this season.


3. Coach should exhibit knowledge of the game through his understanding of rules, systems of play, and coaching philosophy.


4. Coach should display a strong rapport and have earned respect from his players.


5. Coach should have developed a mutually respectful relationship with game officials by using acceptable methods for questioning and avoiding disruptive behavior.


6. Coach should be gentleman on the game field by always exhibiting positive behavior.


7. Coach should be involved with your local soccer coaches organization.


8. Coach should be involved with outside organizations such as camps, clinics and coaching conventions.


9. Coach should be involved with community programs.


10. Coach should have developed excellent relationships with other coaches by being cooperative, considerate, and being positive with game related media statements.

bottom of page